Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So as some of you know I am new to cummins, Not diesels. So I got this 12v and went to the car wash to just hose of the eng compartment alittle. When I left I had a water in fuel light on. .Truck isnt running funny or anything. I tried unhooking the batts to get it to go off and that worked for all of 3 seconds. Did I trip a sensor. Where is it. Thanks.

Daniel

·
Registered
347 Posts
water in fuel

it means u have water in ur fuel u just need to drain it out there should be a valve u pull and it will drain the water out

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
it means u have water in ur fuel u just need to drain it out there should be a valve u pull and it will drain the water out

usually not. when you wash the motor, the sensor gets wet and shows the light. it will go away in a few days. you have nothing to worry about.

·
Registered
661 Posts
go ahead and change your fuel filter (if you havent in a while) so your sensor drys out. it could have worked its self loose. that happened to me so everytime it would rain my light would come on.

·
Registered
347 Posts
then why would it say water in fuel its there to tell ya you got water in your fuel. every time we have a truck come in our shop with the light on i drain it and it goes off and its fine i dont know i have never had a problem with mine but if you guys have had this and it fixed by that way then maybe i need to power wash mine its leaking and i cant find where its so covered so ill have to look out for that and keep it in mind then

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
I hope you dont only wash your engine as often as you change fuel filters....

·
Registered
1,302 Posts