Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. First of all, let me start by saying that I am new to the diesel world and to the forum. I have read and learned a lot about all of the trucks.

This is my first truck. a 6.7L diesel megacab 4X4. I am in love with the truck and the way that it drives. I have come a long way from my old F-150.

My question is, how long should the Wait to Start Light stay on when you turn the key. It seems that the truck is taking about 15 seconds to turn it off. It is about 80 degrees here in South Florida and the truck now has about 500 miles on it.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

thank you all

·
Registered
1,411 Posts
In 80 degree weather, just start it, and don't worry about your wait to start light.

·
Retired Old Fart!
8,561 Posts
This be #3. Just start it. :welcome:
BTW, you may see your voltmeter dip and your lights dim for a few minutes after start up. Don't be concerned. It is the grid heater (the same one the light is waiting for) It may cycle a few times until your intake temp gets up to a level the ECM is happy with.
It is very interesting the wait lamp is lighting in those temps. Mine doesn't come on until it gets down to about 50* outside.

·
Registered
1,533 Posts
Wait to start Light (Grid Heaters)

The spec that I saw in the owners manual is if the intake temperature is below 60 Degrees F. The system will activate the heaters. In North Carolina when it is below 20 degrees i will plug in the block heater on a timer for heat 2 hrs before i will go to work, and the grid heaters will usually not cycle due to the block heater warming up the engine! Other than that, it cranks verry easy in the 40's without pre heating!

·
Registered
744 Posts
There is a wait to start light? Humm I just learned somthing new. I've always plugged mine in during colder weather: in Canada these trucks come with a block heater AND a cord as standard equipment.

·