Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

I'm new to diesels, so sorry in advance for a stupid question.

I purchased my 2005 with a rod hanging out the side and tons of deferred maintenance. Replaced with a reman long block, rebuilt injectors, turbo, and a ton of other stuff. I've finally gotten it on the road. It runs good, no smoke, etc. My question is about startup. I hit the key and within a revolution or two, it starts to catch. It doesn't really spring to life, it kind of rolls into it. Within +/-2 seconds of the key turn, it is idling smoothly at 750 rpm. The batteries are brand new and it spins over pretty strong. Note that is starts like this whether it is 30 degrees and the grid heater is working or today at 80 degrees when it isn't calling for the heater. My question is should it "spring" to life like a gas motor or is it pretty normal for it to just kinda roll into the idle. I know this is hard to explain and probably even harder to say if this is normal or not.

My second question is about the ABS and brake light. I've worked through god knows how many engine/SEL codes. Without any consistency, I'll get a ding and the brake/ABS lights comes on. I can pull to the side of the road, turn it off and restart. The lights will still be on until I put it in gear and start to drive away. Then, both lights will go out and stay out for anywhere from 5 to 50 miles. Based on the forum chatter it seems like a good place to start is replacing the sensor on the rear diff. Do you agree?

I've been lurking for months. Thanks to the forum for helping me work through dozens of other issues. I really appreciate it.

·
Premium Member
5,564 Posts
Everything is heavy, crank/ rod/ pistons then factor 17 to 1 compression not going to start like gasser, less 5 second start, no smoke sounds normal.