Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Cummins Forum,

I started out a couple weeks ago with my First Cummins Dodge after owning my 2001 Ram 2500 Gasser since it was new. I had come to the point in life where i saw the opportunity to get a diesel and went for it. The wife said we needed more space for a kid and dog so i said a Diesel quad cab will last forever but it has to be 03-05. Not knowing much about trucks herself i showed her the pictures and here i am.

All the while knowing that with the right programmer, software, and Gauges there were very few limits on this truck, especially since it came with a welded in 5th Wheel.

My Background is Subaru's, building and Tuning them. Ive worked closely with the opensource crew at Romraider to be on the beta teams for new development on the Roms as well as helping find table logic within the ECU. I thought it would be a great time to use some of this from the start with this dodge and share my how to and findings with my new project. With the subaru it was already at 600Whp before i figured out people were interested in how i got it to that so it made sense to start now with the dodge.

Here is what i am proposing. Instead of worrying about max hp, I plan to set a goal for that this week "realistic goal" but im more interested in how we can change the timing tables with the UDC devices where we Cruise, Tow, and use the truck 99% of the time when we aren't racing someone. To do this i will be using a few devices listed below.

Smarty SSR
Smarty UDC Dongle
Edge Insight CTS with EGT Probe

My Baseline will include MPG and EGT's Stock. My truck has the following modifications done to it.

Gutted Intake
Turbo Silencer Removed
K&N Filter
Cat and Muffler Delete "Straight 4 inch Pipe from the turbo"

Thats it.