Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
a cummins and a duramax. ive ruled out ford b/c of all of the poor reviews ive read. i dont know too much about diesels besides that ive just recently fell in love with them. i am looking at 04-06 models. i know both have their small problems but im looking for the best fit for me. i dont tow at all besides a flatbed trailer with brush sometimes. i am looking more at speed. from what ive heard the duramaxes are quicker. i plan on making upgrades starting with intake, exhaust, chip and tranny upgrades. thanks for any help.

·
Registered
1,257 Posts
:welcome:

Well you're gonna get some biased answers here :lol3:. Anyway I'm fairly new to diesels myself. I went with a Cummins because of the proven track record. They put 5.9 engines in trucks and heavy equipment all across the world. That should be enough. It was for me. Performance aside, the ease of working on these engines is great compared to a V8. Mods are also very easy to do. If you do the work yourself you can save some cash just because it can be done with ease on a Cummins. Weigh your options, but you know the answer you'll get here. It's simple. CUMMINS!!! :thumbsup

·
Registered
1,257 Posts
With a 5.9 there really aren't any problems. Maybe some small issues with certain trucks but they are extremely reliable. However, if you want power with an Auto tranny you will need to upgrade at least the Torque Converter & Valve Body.

With the D-Max I don't like the Independent Front Suspension. Seems weak to me. Very expensive mods. Doesn't sound like a diesel should. I don't really know much about the D-Max.

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
the duramax that I had ran like a champ with no problems

although this cummins I have now is kind of a pain but I would still pick the cummins over the duramax.

·
Premium Member
809 Posts