Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

· Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys this is my first time changing my transmission fluid an filter. Is there any suggestions on which transmission fluid you guys would recommend. I've seen a lot of people talking about valvoline full synthetic, any more suggestions would help. Thanks!

· Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well i just had valvoline do a trans flush to get a majority of the old fluid out and they replaced it with valvoline maxlife, is this good or bad?

· Registered
1,987 Posts
Well i just had valvoline do a trans flush to get a majority of the old fluid out and they replaced it with valvoline maxlife, is this good or bad?
valvoline is a brand name... ATF+4 is the content, I have three different brands of ATF sitting on my garage shelf. They are all identical no matter the brand name lol :S:

And was it a true "flush" of the lines and cooler? Sometimes that can wreak havoc by pulling debris back into the transmission and is very controversial to say the least.

I just try to change my pan fluid every 25k or so...

· Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Okay so im good on the valvoline maxlife? All they did was put a tube down my trans dip stick while in park then had me switch to nuetral after about 5 mins while sucking out the old stuff back to park that whole process took about 20 minutes then they added 16.6 quarts of the maxlife.

· Premium Member
11,939 Posts
If the Maxlife did not say ATF+4 on the bottle it is the wrong stuff. Only ATF+4 is acceptable. The tranny shops have figured (many of them) that a supposedlly allpurpose oil make them more profit and is easy to sell. Besides they think they are experts. Yes, some other fluid additive package will work. However, no scientific testing is done. Chrysler spendt millions of dollars and 1000's of hours selecting quality additives to do best job.

· Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·