Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what is everyone talkin about when there talkin about torque management issue and sum have it turned off? i now its a stupid question but im new to the diesel field and just tryin to figure my truck out and everything

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
could this be the reason my truck wont roast the tires and when i stomp on it act like the fuel cut out on it?

·
Registered
236 Posts
Depends on what year truck you have. 01-02 had TM. The only way to disable it is a BD Rad. A smarty will reduce the effects of it but not completely disable it.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Depends on what year truck you have. 01-02 had TM. The only way to disable it is a BD Rad. A smarty will reduce the effects of it but not completely disable it.
it is a 2002

·
Registered
236 Posts
I would look in to a BD RAD. I have one and it works well. I wouldn't suggest it unless you have a built transmission. The torque management was programmed to keep from destroying the already questionable factory transmission.
The only downside is it will sometimes throw a DTC. It throws a code because it interrupts the signal to the PCM, speed sensor, and transmission so it's doesn't know the speed or what gear the transmission is in.

·
Registered
473 Posts
Yes... that is the exact reason you cant "roast" the tires. I'm getting a BD RAD also. I heard it cuts almost a full second off of your 1/4 mile times.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
ok thanks everyone. does anyone no a good transmission place near Fort Knox,KY

·
Registered
236 Posts