Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
706 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think what im hearing is Timing rattle. Kinda sounds like a gas car pinging, How much is bad?

While driving at about 40 MPH I can barely hear the rattle. This is with the radio off and windows rolled up.

·
Registered
3,514 Posts
still trying to decide how much rattle is ok, im under the impression that the even numbers on the smarty are better without fuel mods, mytruck on 5 made a lot of noise, no smoke, now on 6 there is some rattle but it has a constant haze through the gears, so now i believe i have enough fuel

·
Registered
398 Posts
Rattle is good it means you are running sharp timing.

·
Registered
3,514 Posts
when is it sharp enough to cut the piston in half

·
Registered
134 Posts
I am new to this timing rattle thing. This is my second diesel, my first one was a 98.5 24v that I got rid of as I was buying my new 6.7. That old 24v, man I loved it, was louder than anything I hear today. Sitting at idle, I would have to raise my voice to speak to my passenger.

This 6.7 is quite like a Rolls. I don't like it. Anyway, with the smarty on SW1(30hp with timing) the truck doesn't really sound any different at idle. When I am driving and I get on it, it sounds very similar to my old 24v. I assume this is the timing rattle? Should you ever hear it at idle?

·
Registered
706 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Can anyone explain when to know if you can add more timming, and when to stop? Im thinking of bumping my timming up another notch from 3 to 4. Im not hearing any timming rattle, Or what I THINK is timming rattle.

current tune is SW5, TQ2, TM3 RP3, and MP-8 usualy on 100,

·
Registered
398 Posts