Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My timing is already to the cyl head. but is there any advantage to jumping a tooth also?

·
Registered
2,099 Posts
probably not with stock injectors... you can skip a tooth and line up the timing marks again like they were from stock and that would leave your timing to (about) the same it is now but youll have room between your head and pump and probably take some stress off of your lines.

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i was thinking of some 435's. but im just curious if there'd be any benefit on goin that far with timing

·
Registered
2,099 Posts
i am not an expert but it seems like the experts havent been posting much lately so ill take a stab at it. i think it will depend on how your injectors run. if they are dirty for whatever reason or put lots of fuel in there that needs more time to be completely burn you may need to do more timing. i dont know if a 435 would benefit for anymore than what you have now but you can only be the judge of that when you are doing the tuning.

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i can see where you're coming from on the fuel. if it runs like a BAMF with that much timing, i probably lost all if most of the street manners and low rpm power

·
Registered
534 Posts
I skipped two teeth and still timing two the head runs good:hehe::thumbsup:

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
you're kidding right? lol 2 teeth? any hp numbers with that much timing

·
Registered
2,099 Posts
isnt that like 28-30* initial timing? lol i think im at 16-17 lol

how does it run compared to your previous setting?

·
Registered
534 Posts
Im running 32 degrees of timing lots of white smoke when cold and the smoke dose not clean up a little popin in high rpm range:hehe::thumbsup:

·
Registered
164 Posts