Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have almost 20 K on my engine and have 5" TBE and EGR delted, I want to start using synthetic oil and was wondering if I need to run low ash oil since I have done away with all this nonsense now. I have considered royal purple and amosil as possible oils. Is anybody running these oils and what mileage would you start with the synthetic? I feel my motor still needs more break in time before I do this. With synthetic at what intervals would you change your oil?

·
Registered
469 Posts
I have been around diesels all my life as we had a trucking company growing up and I am now a diesel mechanic. I always heard that you shouldnt run synthetic before 50,000 miles. I dont have any tecnical data to back it up, but it makes sense to me. I wouldnt run it before then. Chris

·
Washington Chapter Vice President
5,059 Posts
Talk to Duluth Diesel here on the forums. He knows his stuff. I am running amsoil synthetic in mine and i switched to it with the bypass setup at 18k. So far no issues. I have not seen any MPG increases but no decreases either. only been 2000 miles so no report as to longevity.

·
Registered
721 Posts
I've got a thousand dollars worth of Amsoil sitting in my garage, I'm gunna wait till 20k for the engine and I'll wait till I get my new torque converter for the tranny. I'll switch to Amsoil in the diffs at 15k, I've only got 4k so far. It's kind a hard to justify driving my oil burner cause the wife's in the middle east, and keep driving her bug, . At least it's got a turbo:rof, still kind of though.

·
Registered
721 Posts
Oh yeah I forgot to mention the pink seats and the hippie flowers. It's still not as bad as a Prius.

·
Registered
31 Posts