Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All. I picked up an 04.5 earlier this year. I have plenty of experience with gas motors but this is my first turbo diesel. I needed it for towing -- it has a built trans and no blowby even though it has 284k miles. The price wasn't too bad so I went for it.

The truck starts quickly, no excess smoke. No apparent fuel leaks under the hood. No codes except for a wastegate circuit due to a bigger turbo. The problem I am having is the motor surges or oscillates when at a fairly steady speed. Truck has an Edge CS2 so I have been monitoring parameters from the ECM when the problem shows up. My biggest concern is that the fuel rail pressure oscillates pretty wildly when it starts to surge. The surging is less noticeable at lower speeds but occurs at 25 MPH when warming the truck up driving through the neighborhood. It also shows up around 35 MPH before shifting into 4th. I can baby it and get up to a cruise at a steady 55 MPH at 18kpsi rail pressure and everything seems fine. If I accelerate a little more and rail pressure goes over about 20kpsi the truck surges and rail pressure bounces rapidly in 5kpsi increments until I let off the throttle.