Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey. I have been searching a bit and found some stuff, but i'm going to ask anyway to clarify. My steering bracket has formed a crack near the bolt. The frame has also developed a crack behind the radiator support on the top edge. Same as in this picture from DTR:

Tomorrow I am going to remove the steering box and bracket and weld it up. I am also going to weld the frame back up. Any advice on doing this?, i've never done framework before. Also, I am aware that this is a somewhat temporary solution. What can I do to prevent this from happening in the future? If anyone has dealt with this and has any tips it would be greatly appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
23,749 Posts
If you have a way to do it I would weld it and then try to add another piece of steel to the bad area to help make it stronger.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did not get around to framework today, probably over the weekend. I have been doing more homework and I cannot for the life of me find a definitive process to remove the steering gear. Is there a step by step? I saw one thread but it failed to explain removing the gear along with pitman arm from the drag link. Do I need a puller? or is there a better way to remove the linkage. Also, how do I remove the steering shaft? I just don't want to go in and start hammering on pins without knowledge of the "correct" process. Should I jack the front of the truck? and what about the securing of the steering wheel that I keep reading about. I have to drive out to my buddies shop because I want to use his machine instead of my little 110 Lincoln so I want to get everything in order.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·