Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here.

My turbo doesn't seem to really get moving until around 2200 rpm and then the truck takes off - in 5th this is about 65mph or so. When shifting through the gears, by the time the turbo spools and gets moving for each gear, its time for the next gear - I'd like it to spool up faster or at a lower rpm to have a more even acceleration across board. Any thoughts? As far as I know, the truck is stock and tuned correctly - uh, by correctly I mean to factory specs, not "correctly" like in here.

·
Registered
736 Posts
here is a link to some easy mods for the pump......gauges are really a necessity when ya start changing fuel. pyrometer at the very least. these motors will put out a LOT of power but ya gotta keep a good eye on what they are doing.
CumminsDatabase.com :: Turning Up A P7100 Pump

·
Registered
69 Posts
mine is the same way. I gotta get some gauges

·
Registered
69 Posts
ok so mines all stock. I dont think the previous owner messed with the pump, or starwheel adjustment. It doesnt smoke at all. Would i be better off just getting a TST plate rather than messing with my stock one. Also can you just adjust the starwheel too without messing with the plate?

·
Registered
137 Posts
I wouldn't buy a plate just grind yours to what you want, there is a plug on top of the AFC housing with an allen head in it, take the plug and get a screwdriver and back it off.

·
Registered
69 Posts
you mean turn it towards the motor??

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Drunk on Diesel,

By "crank up the fuel" I think you mean turn start wheel toward engine. If I do a GSK, do I also have to worry about the valve springs?

·
Registered
69 Posts