Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! Replaced the factory block mounted lift pump and I've been running a Raptor100 for 10 years, 20,687 miles on the pump, 93,540 total miles on truck, don't drive it a lot. 10 years holding 17 psi at idle, with normal minimal pressure decline under load until recently. New rebuilt VP-44 3 months ago, fuel filter change 2 weeks ago. Now pressure varies at start-up depending on the day, and stays at that pressure the remainder of the day, sometimes normal 17 psi, lately often 10-12 psi at idle which is a significant loss. I don't want to just dial up the pressure on the pump, that won't solve the issue. Called Pureflow today and they said probably ECM is bad. Funny, no codes pulled for that, no other electric issues going on, are they blowing me off or what could this new intermittent pressure loss be attributed to? I have searched for answers but non fit my scenario. Many thanks in advance for suggestions.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Just to clarify a bit, when I turn ignition first stop to 'wait', the lift pump engages for a couple of seconds and the fuel gauge shows for 2 seconds what pressure the pump is pushing at, could be 17lbs, 12lbs, 10lbs, etc and that's the pressure it will run at for the rest of the day. Doesn't look like ECM is involved in the problem because the truck hasn't even been started yet as I glimpse at the gauge. All brainstorming welcome!
Aaaaahhh, now it's at 6 lbs, is there some maintenance I should be doing on this unit, Pureflow is 3 hours ahead of my PST and they're no help anyway. If I need a new lift pump, they are not ingratiating me to buy another one of their products.

·
Registered
141 Posts
What kind of gauge do you have? Electrical or mechanical? Sounds like a gauge problem to me.

Reactions: littlebuddie

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #4