Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm new to diesel's so it's a whole new ballgame for me. i'm used to tuning turbo gas powered cars where i add air, and then add fuel to match.
it seems on a diesel, all the air is already there, and we just add more and more fuel to make mroe power. ok...
so, what happens if i stick some big injecftors in? does it just run really rich all the time, or what? what controls the amount of fuel going into the injectors and makes sure that the right amount is being injected under all conditions?
in a gas turbo car, big injectors willmake it run like crap (rich) unless you get a piggyback of some sort to modify the airflow signal to amke the ecu give the injectors a shorter pulse width.

regarding EGT's.... i'm used to having too much air and not enough fuel making them too high. is it the same on a diesel?

why would egt's get too high if i had a tuner of some sort? don't the tuners' just add fuel? how could there not be enough fuel to make EGTs too high if i'm just adding fuel?
i have more questions, but i'll start with these.

·
SootCloudMaker3
5,668 Posts
High EGT's are bad or hard on the motor. Pistons will start to melt i think around 1350 i believe. Someone can correct me if im wrong but that is for a period of time. If you dont have enough air and too much fuel the ingnition in the cylinder is too hot due to to much fuel. Diesel burns hotter than gas.

Like i said someone can correct me if im wrong. That was just a stab.

·
Registered
341 Posts
That is a safe temperature.