Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to cummins so sorry I’m going to sound stupid. I’m trying to build my stock second gen other then a 50hp chip and a aftermarket air intake and exhaust system, to be able to produce 450-500 hp without any headstuds or anything, I know any more then that I’ll need headstuds, I’ve been having trouble starting the truck up when it’s warmed up, I think that’s the vp, is there one vp44 or are there other vps with other ratings or anything that pushes more? I’m also ordering a 150gph lift pump but I don’t really know the difference in the locations of the stock lift pump or one that hooks right up to the fuel tank. I’m getting a edge juice with attitude and maybe 150hp injectors? I know I’m starting to drag on but is there anything else I should do?

·
Registered
1999 Dodge Ram 2500 5 Speed 4x4
87 Posts
^^^ what he said. Should be your main focus (other then lift pump) before even considering 150hp injectors, edge juice, etc. Some get away with making power on a stock auto for a little while but not many. Stock SO VP will provide you with more than enough fuel just get a good lift pump to protect it. Focus your funds on those things first, then consider making power.
In reverse order and you may be upset you now have to shell out $2-5k for a built auto...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
^^^ what he said. Should be your main focus (other then lift pump) before even considering 150hp injectors, edge juice, etc. Some get away with making power on a stock auto for a little while but not many. Stock SO VP will provide you with more than enough fuel just get a good lift pump to protect it. Focus your funds on those things first, then consider making power.
In reverse order and you may be upset you now have to shell out $2-5k for a built auto...