Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been thinking of installing some sort of remote start and/or engine kill switch feature to my 1999 Cummins (that is, once I solve the VP44 issue and have it running again). Not sure if anyone has done this before, but thought I'd see what you guys recommend.

Although I don't know what this feature is called, one item that interested me the most was having some ability to semi-securely leave the engine running while removing the ignition key. In doing so, I'd like to be able to make brief stops without having to shut the engine down/restart, and not worry about someone simply driving off in my truck.

I know that some system like this exists for gasoline engines, though I've never seen it marketed, and I'm not sure what it is called. I work in law enforcement, and we've had a system like this installed in our police cruisers for at least the past 6-7 years or so. Basically, the way it works is that you press a button, then turn the ignition key to the off position and remove it like you normally would. The engine will remain running, but will shut off if someone gets in without the key and presses the brake peddle in an attempt to put the car in gear (the system will just disengage itself if the ignition key is placed back in the vehicle and turned to the "run" position).

Does anyone make something like this that would work with the Ram diesels? If so, is it made as a stand-alone system, or can I also get it with a remote start/keyless entry feature?

My truck does have power locks, but it does not currently have keyless entry installed that I'm aware of. I also have an automatic transmission, in case that matters.

·
Registered
3,153 Posts