Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

regen

948 Views 10 Replies 11 Participants Last post by  Goat Roper 67
is there any way to tell when it is happening or about to happen. im a diesel mechanic for a mack dealership and and the new macks trucks have a light that comes on and a switch that you have to push to start the regen. i wish mine was like that. but anyway is there any way to tell?
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
448 Posts
It is my understanding that you can tell with an edge/attitude chipset.

It reads out when your in regen.

but it has been my expirence and what i have read here, that our trucks are in regen most of the time, unless your towing heavy, on the open roads.

"basicly, they just drink fuel"

· Registered
677 Posts
Not really, other than resetting your mph overhead display frequently. You will see real low mpg on the display. Another way is if you have an edge or other aftermarket programmers installed.

· Registered
2,565 Posts
Aside from the drop in OH mileage drop (which I've found to be minimal at 60mph) if you hear a rattling sound at idle then you know that a regen cycle is in progress - it won't regen at idle but as soon as you start moving again it will try.

· Diesel Jedi
246 Posts
is there any way to tell when it is happening or about to happen. im a diesel mechanic for a mack dealership and and the new macks trucks have a light that comes on and a switch that you have to push to start the regen. i wish mine was like that. but anyway is there any way to tell?
you can tell if you have a pyro and if you still have a dpf.....:thumbsup

· Registered
2,781 Posts
The truck does get a bit louder under the hood. It sounds like you can hear the motor, more. a deeper sound. Mine sounds like I can hear more motor noise coming through the air cleaner.

· Registered
5,872 Posts
The latest flash was "supposed" to give you a message on the overhead readout telling you the truck was in regen. From what I understand it doesn't do it though...