Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone here have any recent experience with these units? I installed one on my ride and it really made it sound different. It has a rattle to it now like the valves are loose and almost sounds like it's tapping in the rear of the block. The truck only has 29k and has always purred like a kitten. Anyone familiar with this? I'm fairly new to Cummins and may be overreacting because the truck runs fine and pulls strong it's just noisier than I'm used to. Should I take it off or do other modules have the same effect?

·
Registered
2,329 Posts
i beleive ...... its because , its a timing box.....i installed one too........what kinda mpgs r u getting??????

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Not sure yet, I've only ran 1/4 tank since I put it on and am at 170 miles. Got a ways to go before I can get hard numbers. Did your engine get noisy too with it installed? I don't mean alarmingly noisy, just not like it was without the quad.

·
Registered
2,329 Posts
i was told before i installed it ........ that there would be a timing knock ....if u go on their website and go under updates ........... the updates will tell you somewhat to expect after you download the software....... mine mpgs change each week......only had it for bout 3 weeks now......the most i have seen .."handcalculated" is 545 miles in 29 gals...and thats 18.7mpg......but thats mixed driving city/highway.......... at 1/2 a tank im usually at 300-315 miles .....i m always hopeing to see 600 on a full tank.LOL!!!!!! that would be perfect!!!

·
Registered
2,329 Posts
i just did a 4" turbo back exhaust straight piped .....so its gonna be kinda hard to drive normal.....i try to stay under 2000 rpms which is bout 65mph.........

·
Registered
2,329 Posts
that reminds me i need to change my sig

·
Registered