Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys im completely new to the cummins scene. ive had an 03 ford with a 7.3. and looking for a 06-07 dodge mega cab 4x4 dually with the 5.9. i know with my ford, you had the off the shelf tuners and chips that were ok but you also had the custom chips and tuners that were a lot better. what is the best route for the 5.9 cummins? im not looking to make it a race truck. just add a little power and mainly fuel mileage. i know there are off the shelf tuners for these trucks but are there custom ones that are better? thanks again for the help!

·
Registered
34 Posts
Smarty Jr. on level 1 and you will be set.:thumbsup: Might think about some guages just for insurance though its doubtful you will need them.

·
Registered
3,767 Posts
I would say a Bully Dog Triple Dog (wait for the haters....) or a Smarty either one would be a good choice. I have had and ran Bully Dog since 05, so I have chosen to stick with it w/o any problems. But I know there are alot of guys out there running Smartys and praise the ground the truck rolls across:hehe: So I would say whatever you could find a better deal on used or new. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
is the smarty an off the shelf tuner? i know with my bully dog stuff on my ford the egts were alot higher than the custom tuner i ended up with. the custom one also gave me a lot better mileage and power... id like a few tunes to play with. economy, towing, street, and some sort of a play tune

·
Registered
3,767 Posts
You can get a Smarty off the shelf. There are also quite a few different programs floating around for the Triple Dog Downloader.....

·
Registered
34 Posts
Bully dog is really good to the gt tuner is a one stop deal. It already has gauges and they have some updates out for it. I have mine and like it.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Smarty has different "Tunes"

Revo
Revo TNT
Revo TNT/R