Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2002 Ram 3500 5.9 Diesel. 135000 miles
Thanks in advance to all that put there time into this.
I am a rookie when it comes to working on diesels. So I got the infamous death code about 2 weeks ago. Ordered new stock replacement VP44, 60hp injectors,FASS 150, Edge juice with Attitude, new cam sensor, put new tappet gasket, rebuilt the vacuum pump, new power steering & hoses. That's all good up to now.
Every new component has the proper power going to it. Bleed the fuel line that goes to the VP. Got diesel to the VP. Cracked open 1,3,4 fuel lines to bleed. Cranked several times air coming out like its supposed to. Fuel pressure is 16-18 when pump kicks on. The key on the VP is lined up where it's supposed to be.
PROBLEM: Truck wont start now, it will crank but won't start. I have 12.25 volts at both batteries when NOT cranking. When cranking its 11.7-11.8.
Maybe the batteries? What else am I missing?
Thanks for any advice.
2cents is worth a lot to me rite now:homer2:

·
Registered
170 Posts
man it seems uve done alot all at once! double and triple check all your connections. hope u find the problem! farout!

·
Premium Member
4,755 Posts
When doing all of that, try cracking the return banjo on the VP44 & bump the starter. It purges all air internally of the VP44. Then do the 134 again. Also, check & RECHECK how the VP44 electrical plug is. The slidelock has to be all the way out,then line up the plug & push on it while working the slidelock in ALL THE WAY. Now, in all of this work you have done, you may have shorted something out & have a blown fuse. If it's below 50* out, your Wait To Start light should come on.

Ed

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·