Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I already have the PPE programer and BDAP 5" and I wanted to put a MP-8 on also. I am pretty new to the diesel stuff and I read somewhere about the MP-8 and turning down the low end fuel response, I have no idea what this is I thought the MP-8 was either on or off I dont want to put this on my truck and mess something up can someone explain.

·
Premium Member
2,542 Posts
the mp8 is rail pressure and it has three settings, it does not add timing so its safe to stack

·
Premium Member
2,542 Posts
The Mp8 helps in the lower rpms, and the PPE is more high end higher rpms. So the Mp8 will help the bottom end and the PPE will pick up mid way and take you through the higher range

·
Unreconstructed
6,213 Posts
Amen to that!!!!! 'Cause they ain't cheap!!!!!

A set of injectors, rail, HPOP, etc...is about $12,000 from Dodge, and they WON'T cover it in your warranty if there's evidence of over-excessive fuel pressure, from an outside source, that caused the failure, so I would definitely get a rail-pressure gauge!

·
Registered
723 Posts
so if you have a rail pressure gauge what percent are you runnin the mp-8 where you are seeing safe levels? I dont have a guage yet, and the edge doesn't show this, so i guess i need to grab one. any suggestions. thx

·
Unreconstructed
6,213 Posts
I know folks who leave theirs all the way up, and never have any problems! But then again, there's always the "Alabama Mud Machine's Law"...if there's a 1% chance, that my truck will tear-up...it will...at the worst possible time, and it will cost the most money to fix!

So, I hope you're luck ain't like mine?

·
Premium Member
8,798 Posts
mp8 is different on the 6.7 it is % adjustable not settings so its a dial, the low end responsivness talked about would be when stacking with the edge you have the option on the edge to turn it to 5 different levels.

·
Washington Chapter Vice President
5,059 Posts