Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I already have the PPE programer and BDAP 5" and I wanted to put a MP-8 on also. I am pretty new to the diesel stuff and I read somewhere about the MP-8 and turning down the low end fuel response, I have no idea what this is I thought the MP-8 was either on or off I dont want to put this on my truck and mess something up can someone explain.

·
Unreconstructed
6,587 Posts
Amen to that!!!!! 'Cause they ain't cheap!!!!!

A set of injectors, rail, HPOP, etc...is about $12,000 from Dodge, and they WON'T cover it in your warranty if there's evidence of over-excessive fuel pressure, from an outside source, that caused the failure, so I would definitely get a rail-pressure gauge!

·
Registered
722 Posts
so if you have a rail pressure gauge what percent are you runnin the mp-8 where you are seeing safe levels? I dont have a guage yet, and the edge doesn't show this, so i guess i need to grab one. any suggestions. thx

·
Unreconstructed
6,587 Posts
I know folks who leave theirs all the way up, and never have any problems! But then again, there's always the "Alabama Mud Machine's Law"...if there's a 1% chance, that my truck will tear-up...it will...at the worst possible time, and it will cost the most money to fix!

So, I hope you're luck ain't like mine?

·
Premium Member
8,425 Posts
mp8 is different on the 6.7 it is % adjustable not settings so its a dial, the low end responsivness talked about would be when stacking with the edge you have the option on the edge to turn it to 5 different levels.

·
Washington Chapter Vice President
5,040 Posts
I am not sure what the PPE does for its power, but like KMK said. The MP-8 only raises rail pressure on the 6.7s. It has a dial for adjustment. The Edge is the chip that has the Low End Responsiveness adjustment. A rail pressure gauge would be handy. I am looking at getting one myself. I run both of mine cranked almost all the time.