Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I weighed my loaded truck and trailer set-up today and need some help interpreting the numbers to make sure all is good.

I have no experience with steer axle, drive axle and trailer axle weights but was curious was the full set-up weighed so stopped at a nearby scale today - below is a photo of the weights.

As mentioned in the title - the truck is a 2018 Ram 2500 megacab diesel. Trailer is an all aluminum 26 foot enclosed InTech car hauler (two 5200 lbs axles). Inside is one car, a pit bike, tires, tools, etc....basically, what you'd need for a day at the race track.

I'm using an Anderson No-Sway/weight distribution hitch (Hitch I'm using) and have Air Lift air helper springs (the truck does not have auto leveling) filled to ~70psi - the psi used was determined by measuring the fender height of the rear unloaded and then attaching the trailer and adding air until the squat was gone.

I was more curious on total weight which was 17,980lbs - but did not know how to interpret the specific axle weights to see if things needed to be loaded differently. The trailer pulls grteat with zero sway or drama even in heavy winds.

thoughts?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Add your steering axle and your drive axle weights together. If they are under your GVW rating for your truck your are golden. If it is over you have a problem. Check with your insurance company if your are. You might have to upgrade your policy. A lot of guys out there will tell you to just go for it don't worry about being overloaded. That is all good and fine until something goes wrong and you wind up in court.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OK so mine adds up to 10,340lbs - I believe the GVWR of the truck is 10,000 lbs.