Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys/girls,
Newbie here. Jumped out of a lifted 1984 W150 and in into a 2500 diesel. I picked up a 1998.5 2500-4x4, auto trans and completely stock for $2500:party018:. I knew it needed a injector pump when I bought it. I ordered one from TheDieselShop.com and should get it Monday 2/20. The truck has 363k on the clock but I know the maintenance history and it has been well cared for. Rear rebuilt 1000 miles ago, new ac compressor/condenser last year, new lift pump 100 miles ago, tires are almost new and new paint 1.5 years ago (minor dents-easy fix). She needs a good cleaning but that is the easy part.

My question is: I will be changing the injection pump and was wondering if there is anything else (besides the lift pump) that I should change while I will have the pump off. I plan on keeping this truck for a long time and want to keep up with the good maintenance history. I plan on keeping this truck stock..... For now;)

Thanks!!

Here is a like to photo bucket:
98 Dodge Ram Diesel pictures by Dieselfixer - Photobucket

·
Registered
328 Posts
Thats a nice looking truck youve got there. Do you know if the trans has had any work done to it? and do you plan on keeping it stock or putting some performance parts on it?

·
Banned
1,612 Posts
Dump the lift pump, don't care if it's new.

Put in an AirDog and a fuel pressure gauge.

·
Gyropilot
341 Posts
When you have that VP44 out for the swap, as a preventive measure, be sure to replace the camshaft position sensor. It's located underneath the VP44 on the backside of the timing gear case and extremely difficult to reach with the VP44 in place. You can save the old camshaft position sensor as an emergency spare.

Best regards,

John L.

·
Registered
1,172 Posts