Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I own a 2001 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW Cummins. I do grading for a living so I haul equipment frequently and I’m not very happy the trucks capabilities. It seems like everyone I talk to hypes these trucks up and I see people towing with 2nd gens all the time but my truck struggles. Unloaded it does fine but the second I hook a trailer up it drags. Even if it’s just a couple thousand pounds. I understand it’s almost 20 years old, but this truck was made for this so I feel like I should be getting a little more.

It seems to me like the motor has all the power it needs but it can’t do anything with it when it only has 4 gears. Whenever I try to go up a grade, it will bog down until it downshifts, then it runs a little hot because the RPMs are way up.

It truly handles good but it makes me uncomfortable when my tans temp is 200 degrees and motor temp starts creeping towards 200 when I’m still going up hill.

I’m not saying the truck has any problems, I just don’t want to grenade it. So I’m asking for others experience when towing to see if we’re in the same boat. I’m mostly pulling between 8-15k pounds

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
It’s a 53 block so it’s a gamble for me to throw bigger injectors or a tune in it.

The trans shift fine and it doesn’t do anything abnormal. The motor and trans just run hot so is there a way I can keep them cool? It really only warms up when I’m in stop and go traffic or going up hill. After that it cools down.

·
Registered
173 Posts
While pulling up the hill, do you ever use low 4wd? Regarding engine heating, you've checked the coolant level, right?

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I’ve never attempted to activate 4wd going at high speed. I’m directing more towards highway and roads where speed is around 50-70.