Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

· Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The oil cooler is built into the radiator right? Is there a specific way of checking the radiator once it's out to determine if it is indeed bad. Could you put air through where the lines hook up to see if it blows through. I'm no expert mechanic so these may seem like silly questions. I just want to be sure before i order something. Any help would be appreciated.

· Registered
701 Posts
the engine oil cooler is behind the oil filter housing on the side of the block, i don't know about the tranny oil cooler on the autos.

· Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Here is my next question. Ive read a couple of archives that people have said when oil coolers go bad they fill your radiator with oil. Is it connected to the radiater, and how? It's taking the oil out of my crankcase and putting it into my radiater under pressure to the point its filling my overflow and not registering oil on the dipstick. I'm just trying to get an understanding of how it ties together and works.

· Registered
701 Posts
the oil is water cooled. it has a radiator type thing that is in the block. it will get a leak and oil pressure is higher than water pressure.

· Registered
1,171 Posts
This is an old engine oil cooler next to a new one . . . .

It is immersed in the engine coolant inside the engine block, behind the engine oil filter mount . ..

Next to cylinders one and two . . .

Cool engine coolant is drawn from the radiator, through the water-pump, and into the block right there where the engine oil cooler is mounted.

That's what cools the engine oil.

NOTE: That same oil cooler location lends itself to warming the engine oil on a cold start-up as during the initial warm-up, the engine coolant thermostat is closed and engine coolant is circulated in the long-block thus bringing the oil temperature up to a minimum. ;)