Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I use my 1996 3500 during warm weather times of year for pulling my 15500 lb 5th wheel. I purchased it new and now has 84,000 miles on it. I noticed last year that when boost gets to about 12 lbs or higher in 3rd, 4th, and 5th it makes a noise like a bunch of marbles rolling around in a container. I have changed the lube two times and used the proper Castrol Syntorq. I plan on changing it again in spring before I start driving it again to see what old lube looks like and if new lubes makes any improvement. Anyone have any thoughts on what the problem could be? It is RWD with a 3.54 axle ratio.

·
Registered
276 Posts
Not a lot of miles, but quite a bit of weight. It could need a rebuild. I just replaced mine this year because it got really loud constantly and I knew the bearings were about to go. It even made noise in neutral. I'm no expert though, I'm sure others will chime in.

·
Registered
17,331 Posts
Do you tow in 5th?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I do tow in 5th but when boost gets up to about 14 lbs, I downshift and always keep above 1800 RPM's in 5th.

·
Registered
17,331 Posts
I can tell you from experience (I went through 12 NV4500s before my G56 upgrade) that you are needing a refresh before you have a catastrophic (expensive) failure. When they start making noise, bad things happen soon. 5th gear doesn't get enough oil to keep it cool when towing in 5th. 1800 rpm & above is 60+ mph, wind drag is worse than weight, but together will shorten the little transmission's life. At a minimum you are needing a new 5th gear because it has become several shades of blue & purple (might as well get a fully splined shaft) and all the bearings.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·