Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I'm a newbie to the site. I've been lurking around trying to gain info on which direction I'd like to go. I have a 03 3500 and was thinking of buying a Bio station and making my own. That is until I realized I probably couldn't go with 100% bio in my 03.

Now I'm kinda thinking about WVO. There seems to be some favorable reviews of the CRD using veggie. I'm just wondering if it's gonna be a pain in the rear to go back and forth from regular diesel to bio and back making moderate length or short length trips.

I'm looking to substantially cut my fuel costs. WVO would do that if it would work well on my vehicle. I have considered selling my 03 and buying a clean 01 to do the Bio, but trucks are taking a big hit right now and I'm afraid I would get hurt too bad on selling mine.

Any input would be appreciated.

And BTW, Great site:hyper:
DC

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
DPF? sorry, please explain. I was under the impression that if I ran 100% bio that with the common rail the pressures are too high and polymerization would take place???
DC

·
Registered
108 Posts
Diesel Particulate Filter, aka soot filter. Trucks with a DPF (for Dodges it starts with the 6.7 motors) go through a "regen cycle to burn out all the soot when they get plugged up, and part of the process is injecting fuel into the cylinders post ignition which vaproizes and provides the fuel to burn the DPF clean. Bio does not vaporize as well as regular #2 diesel, so you end up with fuel wash in your cylinders that ends up in your engine oil....not a good thing.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
so since I don't have a DPF I can run 100% home made bio? What about the clogging filter issues I've read about with polymerization ?(<---spelling??)
DC

·
Registered
45 Posts