Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! many of you will be happy to hear that i finally got rid of my powerstroke and got a cummins, and i am very happy with the trade :thumbsup Since im new to the dodge world, does anyone have any advice on some quick things to do to my truck to help me get rolling? Any tricks or secrets to the motor would be helpfull. its a 2001 5.9 cummins quad cab short box 2wd. Im not looking at doing anything insane since it is my work truck. just a little extra power would be wonderful. Hope to hear from all you! :popcorn:

·
Registered
3,532 Posts
CAI, Exhaust, Edge Juce W/Attitude, Lift pump, & eather a clutch or Valve body & flex plate depending on if its an auto or standerd trany. Youll be flyin with better milage also:thumbsup

·
Registered
163 Posts
:welcome: you will find all the help and advise on here that you will ever need. This is truely a great bunch of people on here. :thumbsup

·
Registered
258 Posts
Congrats on the truck. I would recommend getting a fuel pressure gauge first to watch your lift pump. Maybe a performance lift pump, intake, exhaust, and small programer or injectors. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
If it's an auto, get a built trans,, that will make a huge difference, in mileage and power, and get a set of gauges..

Fuel pressure is very important to moniter.

Merrick

·
Registered
417 Posts
Congrats on the new truck, and glad to see ya made a good choice :thumbsup On your truck, I would suggest:

1. Upgrade your lift pump to a FASS or Airdog or something of the sort. The OE lift pumps are notorious for going out, and when that happens = $$$(most likely your VP44 will go out)
2. Fuel Pressure gauge
3. Other Gauges: for auto - tranny temp, pyrometer, and boost
for manual - pyrometer and boost
4. 4 inch exhaust at least
5. High flow air filter..I run an AFE stage 1 intake