Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question. Why do you guy's overfill the getrag manual transmission and what happens if I don't? Im a newbie and don't know much. thanks

·
Registered
123 Posts
One of the main failures in all manual transmissions is the main shaft brgs . by over filling the case you increase the lubracation and cooling of the brgs. I woul use a good synthetic oil like shell rotell in that tranny . also if you buy a street pipe elbow and screw it in the fill plug makes it alot easyer 2 overfill! just dont put more than 1 extra quart ! to much will make it overheat . if you tow alot i would also add a temp sensor in the pto cover...

Reactions: ADuke

·
Registered
658 Posts
It's a design issue- they were designed to run level, but if you notice, the Cummins sits with a rearward tilt, moving the tranny oil to the rear, and thus, leaving the pocket bearing high and dry. So, add a qt or so extra, and it submerges that bearing, and it lives longer.

NO lugging the Getrag. The engine can handle it, the tranny cant. If towing, I keep the RPMs above 1800 at all times; if empty, >1500.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Your not supposed to lug a getrag???????????????

·
1ST GEN
15,572 Posts
Don't lug a getrag. When you start hearing vibrations from low RPM drop it down a gear.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
what happens to it if u do. cuz i do it all the time.

·
Registered
159 Posts
The Getrag lugging was explained elsewhere by an experienced Getrag rebuilder "mysteryman" (maybe someone will chime in with a link). The lugging seems to pound the input shaft bearings apart leading to "boom". ... :party018:

·
Registered
178 Posts
how about the noise you get when you lug it, doesn't sound good so it probably isn't

·
Registered
42 Posts
6 speed trans?