Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
VA Chapter VP
Joined
·
756 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys a proposed new traffic fines for going 15mph over on interstate hwy. can get you a fine up to 3550.00 and other things.:shock::shock::
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,116 Posts
hence why i live in michigan, we take our hits is different places hence the canadian governer:doh:

**no offense to the canadians, just her.
 

·
VA Chapter President
Joined
·
890 Posts
NEW VIRGINIA SPEEDING FINES EFFECTIVE 1 JULY 2010

New VA tax law goes into affect 1 July 2010. Might want to pass
this info around to your friends and families. Cost can accumulate
rather swiftly. It only applies to Virginia Residents.

Good information for everyone. Please pass along. In short,
10-15 mph over the posted speed limit is now $3,500 (after a new points
tax that was introduced) in the state of Virginia. Here is the link
Virginia Introduces $3550 Speeding Ticket
<http://www.thenewspaper.com/news/18/1818.asp>

Virginia Introduces $3550 Speeding Ticket Virginia legislator
introduces new speeding ticket tax that boosts penalties beyond $3550,
driving business to his traffic law firm.

Virginia motorists convicted of minor traffic violations will
face a new, multi-year tax beginning July 1. Led by state Delegate David
B. Albo (R-Springfield), lawmakers slipped a driver responsibility tax
into a larger transportation funding bill signed by Governor Tim Kaine
(D) in
April. Albo, a senior partner in the Albo & Oblon, LLP traffic
law firm, can expect to see a significant increase in business as
motorists seek
to protect their wallet from traffic tickets that come with
assessments of up to $3000 in addition to an annual point tax that tops
out at $700
a year for as long as the points remain.

Driving as little as 15 MPH over the limit on an interstate
highway now brings six license demerit points, a fine of up to $2500, up
to one year
in jail, and a new mandatory $1050 tax. The law also imposes an
additional annual fee of up to $100 if a prior conviction leaves the
motorist with a balance of eight demerit points, plus $75 for each
additional point (up to $700 a year). The conviction in this example
remains on the record for five years.

Other six-point convictions include "failing to give a proper
signal," "passing a school bus" or "driving with an obstructed view."
The same
$1050 assessment applies, but the conviction remains on the
record for eleven years.

Although the amount of the tax can add up quickly, the law
forbids judges from reducing or suspending it in any way. The tax
applies only to Virginia residents, so that out-of-state motorists only
need to pay the regular ticket amount. Michigan, New Jersey, New York
and Texas also
impose a somewhat more modest driver responsibility tax <
Driver Responsibility Programs Mean Steady Revenue for States
<http://www.thenewspaper.com/news/03/362.asp> > which they apply to
out-of-state residents.
<http://www.incredimail.com/?id=606432&rui=81886011>
 

·
SUPER MODERATOR
Joined
·
1,891 Posts
hence why i live in michigan, we take our hits is different places hence the canadian governer:doh:

**no offense to the canadians, just her.
None taken by this Canuck:beer
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
According to the VA Legislature website, 46.2-206.1 was repealed in 2008. Also, the site referenced (thenewspaper.com) issued updates to thier original post (dated 2007) which indicate that Governor Kaine repealed this law (dated 3/28/2008). You can view the update at Virginia: Abuser Fees Officially Dead.

Just an FYI
 

·
VA Chapter President
Joined
·
890 Posts
Sounds like a fake, after readng that. I just got email through work with this bs lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
Wow either way thank god i have ohio plates and im an ohio resident!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
324 Posts
Ya this law is no longer in effect as people were furious about it and it quickly got struck down.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,923 Posts
thank god just another way for em to stick it to us
 

·
VA Chapter VP
Joined
·
1,346 Posts
well soon they are going to let miltary members drive in the hov as long as they are in uniform transitting back and forth to work
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,923 Posts
that will be nice but then I wont drive in the hov cuz it will be packed lol
 

·
VA Chapter VP
Joined
·
1,346 Posts
i think it will levitate the traffic all around during rush hr
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,923 Posts
yeah I think it will doest really matter to me tho I try to get out as soon as possible off base so that I miss it lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
This law went into effect 2 years ago. Shortly after it was repealed because the fine was so outrageous.

Look at the date on the article. It was written in 2007.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
313 Posts
Wow either way thank god i have ohio plates and im an ohio resident!


x2, even while this law was repealed, you guys have enough crazy rules that I'm keeping my Ohio plates as long as I possibly can....which apparently is also against the law here from what I've heard
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,923 Posts
not as long as you are active duty staioned here and have the same state drivers liscence. at least thats what they told me at the DMV a while back
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
313 Posts
Yeah, but I'm not active duty...I'm not millitary at all, I do build subs, though. Ya think the police will let me go on that? haha
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,923 Posts
uuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmmm yeah about that probably not but its worth a shot right lol
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top