Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll be the first to admit that I am not a diesel expert. I have a bone stock 5.9L with 277,964 miles. I am one of those who never knew about the harmonic damper until the TDR article. So I looked and sure enough I had a worn out damper so I brought a fluid damper. Finally installed the damper today and it wasn't a difficult install. Basically went like this: removed the neg bat cables, unplugged the fan clutch, removed the fan shroud, removed the belt, removed the fan, used a pump jack and piece of 2x4 to wedge between the damper wheel and lower shroud mount bracket. worked great! was able to break the four damper bolts no problem. removed old damper, cleaned the shaft and lubed prior to installing new damper. the fluid damper can only go on one way because of the crank shaft dowel so installed it and the bolts to wrench tight then used the wedge method to torque to 92 ft/lbs. reinstalled the belt, the fan and shroud plugged in the fan clutch, hooked the neg cable to the batteries and then tried to start. turned over and caught then stopped. tried again same. I drove the truck all day yesterday and where I parked it is where I did the work. I had one DTC: camshaft position sensor prior to the work. I use a smarty Jr. but took the truck back to stock prior to the work. I installed a new FCA a few weeks ago. within the last 6 months I replaced the battery cables. I have new strong batteries. I am at a loss as to why it didn't just start right up. any ideas? thanks

·
Registered
5,288 Posts
I had one DTC: camshaft position sensor prior to the work. I use a smarty Jr. but took the truck back to stock prior to the work. I installed a new FCA a few weeks ago. within the last 6 months I replaced the battery cables. I have new strong batteries. I am at a loss as to why it didn't just start right up. any ideas? thanks
What year??
Still have cam code ?