Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally got my self a first gen. Since i was born in 93 that was the year I wanted.. Im a rig welder by trade so 4x4 is a must, and a reliable trans so the 5 speed was what I wanted.

Finally found a truck for a decent price and picked it up Sunday. Truck was plugged in when I got there(50*) so i figured it may be tough cranking if it was real cold. Started it up and it white smoked until the engine got warm(10 min) then took it for a drive. Didn't notice any missing or rough running. Speedo was off.

Yesterday I fired it up without being plugged in at 50* and it fired right up but idled a little low and was shaking/white smoking pretty good. I check the exhaust manifold with a laser thermometer and the front cylinder was 30* cooler then the others. Is it safe to assume the injector is bad?

Are the borg warner injectors from o'rileys good quality? It is 90 bucks and will be there in a day. Don't want to risk hurting the engine driving and the smoke is pretty emberessing. The injectors are all supposed to be new along with the ip. So if i can get away with just replacing the one injector I would be happy.

Thanks for any help.. and i have searched about the above things but got no answers.

I have ordered a benny t stage 2 pin, 3200 rpm spring, isspro tach and egt gauge.

Attachments

·
Registered
207 Posts
Killer truck!

Since it runs well when it's warm, I wouldn't replace an injector yet. If it has bigger injectors and an adjusted pump it may be delivering more fuel than a cold engine can burn.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! Sorry i forgot to mention, injectors and pump are all stock. Never been touched. After the long drive home i let it idle for a few minutes and the engine temp went down to the first notch in the temp gauge. It started smoking white again at that time.