Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 99 that I believe has a little bigger after market exhaust and a K & N air cleaner other then that it it stock. My mpg is only about 16 and most of that has been 50 mile trips at 65-70 mph . Is there anythiong I can do to atleast get it to 20 mpg without alot of add ons or what are your thoughts? I jsut got the truck so I am new to the cummins thing, Thanks

·
Registered
540 Posts
Get a bigger exhaust, a 4" turbo back is perfect for a lightly modified/stock truck. Use 2stroke oil at a 1:128 ratio. If you want look into diffrent chips. Or check out Mopar Man 1973's stuff he has a full page devoted to his trucks.

·
Registered
2,254 Posts
atleast get it to 20 mpg
Well first off, remember that your truck weighs 7,000lbs and 20mpg's is a lot, but not impossible. Second, how long have you had it? I'd check the fuel filter for sure, maybe search the tech articles for MAP sensor cleaning? How's your tire pressure? :popcorn:

·
Registered
370 Posts
what he said; check out mopar1973man's stuff...:thumbsup he seems to have the juice on good mpg's...

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
yes 3.55 gears, I have had it a mounth, and yes I need new tires but they are up and I was going to try the 2 stoke oil, I think it has atleast 4" exhaust on it now but I will check, I ahve no idea of what chips to check out but I will, thanks

·
Registered
565 Posts
Just to chime in.. mine's a 2WD auto with I think 3:55 gears. I have a 4" turbo back exhaust with a 4" resonator and an donaldson like muffler with a block off plate in the center preventing free flow. I had a BHAF on it and all my filters and oil change were new.

I get 16.5-17 in town and 22 hwy.