Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

mpg question?

1451 Views 25 Replies 10 Participants Last post by  vms
alright im new to diesels and don't know much about them but my 99 single cab 4x4 is stock except a 4" straight pipe exhaust and im only getting an average of 12.5 mpg. i know something isn't right. it should get better right? i drive everyday to college and this is killing my wallet.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· ILLINOIS NORTHERN VP
2,103 Posts
alright im new to diesels and don't know much about them but my 99 single cab 4x4 is stock except a 4" straight pipe exhaust and im only getting an average of 12.5 mpg. i know something isn't right. it should get better right? i drive everyday to college and this is killing my wallet.
First off welcome to Cummins Forum!
Nick

· Future Fly Boy!
2,228 Posts
gears? tire size? type of tires? driving habbits? auto/manual? all of those take a toll on your mpg...things like a really dirty air filter, fluids that havent been changed in a while can also make your mileage drop...id start first with an aftermarket lift pump, make sure your vp is kept happy...

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
the tires aren't very big, its an automatic, and i just recently replaced all fluids and filters, i dont drive hard at all. i haven't yet hand calculated it but i know its not getting very good... u can pretty much watch the gas gauge drop. about how much do lift pumps run?

· Registered
145 Posts
The price of a lift pump can be mild to wild. It all depends on your plans for the truck. If you’re going to do major mods go with a fass or an airdog. If you’re like me and don’t plan huge power. Go with something cheaper like a raptor or like I did and get a holly. Most of the guys hate the holly’s but their cheaper then a stock lift which is good for a budget guy like me.

· Premium Member
323 Posts