Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ill soon be a new owner of a 96 2500 CTD 2wd. High mileage, but good runner. Owner is a small business and will be supplying records.

Im new to Dodge Ram and CTD, but not new to diesels and mechanical injection, Ive owned quite a few Mercedes-Benz IDI turbodiesels. Ive been looking through the beginners threads and stickies. I have seen that some links are dead, like the diesel database, but Ill get through those in time.

Ill need to go through receipts, as I dont want to do anything that was recently serviced, but I will plan to get a good maintenance baseline on the truck. Thus I plan, depending upon age/mileage:

• Oil and filter
  • Valve adjustment
  • Air filter
  • AT service (potentially torque bands)
  • Rear end service
  • Brake fluid flush
  • Grease anything I can
  • Fuel filter (is there a pre and a fine filter on these trucks?)
  • Go over all electrical connections including at the batteries
  • Lube all hinges and hood spring
  • tighten/replace anything that needs it
  • Check dowel pin if no history
I am curious about if it is best practice to pop and balance the injectors on these engines. On my MB cars, the bosch injectors (sometimes with different nozzles) are best pop tested and balanced every 100k or so for best combustion. Is this something that I should look into? Or, after some duration, is it best to replace injectors completely on these engines?

Is there anything else that I should be thinking about doing? Im not looking to hotrod, tune or do much else to this truck, I really just want a capable hauler with good efficiency, and I personally love diesels. Ill go back and re-review the stickies and beginner thread, but wanted to lay out my plan here for comment and suggestions.

Thanks very much for any advice!

·
Registered
59 Posts