Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let’s get the details of the truck out of the way first right? 2001 Ram 3500 ECLB dually. She’s a 24v NV4500 truck with 377k and a rebuild at 350k. All stock everything besides a fass to my knowledge. So the problem is between each gear in the lower rpm range (until about 16-1700) she’s rolling some coal, not excessive but enough for people to not want to be behind me. This isn’t just when i floor it it’s daily driving unless I’m barely on throttle crawling. I can’t quite tell if it’s down on power but I’m new to these trucks. I checked for boost leaks and didn’t find anything, replaced the air filter and I’m currently running some treatment through the fuel. Any other suggestions? It’s almost like it’s throwing too much fuel before building boost. I’ll attach a pic of the turbo setup just so you guys can tell me if it all looks kosher.

Attachments

·
Registered
169 Posts
Scanned for any codes? Do you have gauges installed - EGT, FP, Boost? And what was rebuilt @ 350K?

·
Registered
22,311 Posts
Any codes? Any oil in Turbo? How old is VP44?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just scanned it yesterday no codes stored or pending. No gauges yet, taking care of some maintenance issues first then those are first thing

·
Registered
245 Posts
I have no history on the vp so lord knows, turbo looks clean
Is it rolling coal with the clutch in/off throttle? Might be blowing black smoke because you are shifting too early at low rpms. Try shifting into the next gear at a higher speed. The nv4500 has some pretty good gaps between gears You can try taking off your air filter pipe and check your turbo compressor wheel for any back and forth/side to side play

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·