Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so I have a 2006 2500 5.9 Mega Cab. All new injectors and fuel pump at 235,00 miles and Rebuilt trans at 260,000 miles, truck now has 280,000 miles. Runs perfect. I currently pull a 6,000 enclosed trailer. I am looking to move up to a gooseneck triple axle toy hauler that will be around 16k-18k total trailer weight. Still researching what the ball weight will be. I am new to this.

I am selling my 2500 and the enclosed trailer and moving up to a 3500 DRW 6.7L and the mentioned toy hauler. I am thinking 2013 - 2015 model year.

If possible I would like to stay with the Mega Cab, but crew cab would work.

If my research is correct, I need the 3.73. the 3.42 will not work. Is that correct?

So my basic usage is I leave Atlanta, Ga around 3/25 and head up to TN. then head down to Texas, then up to Colorado. Around Late June I head to NC, then in July to WV and then in August back to NC, and in late Sept back to Atlanta. I make weekend trips in Oct to AL and FL. Basically the truck and trailer sit from Nov 1 - late March and then I do it all again. All those stops are motorcycle events that I attend each year.

I keep my vehicles stock, and I am very strict about oil, fuel and air filter maintenance. I keep my tires properly inflated. I do the trailer wheel bearing maintenance each year before I stat out.

so what is the 5th wheel rating of a 2013 - 2015 6.7L DRW mega cab? Will it handle the 16K - 18K toy hauler I am considering? If needed I could get by with a double axel 5th wheel toy hauler that is a total trailer weight of around 12K-14K.

Just not sure what I need. I am just starting this search, and will be purchasing the vehicle around Jan/Feb 2021

·
Registered
796 Posts