Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

injector nozzle replacement?

1920 Views 14 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  UrbanCummin
How important is it to get them pop tested after replacing the tips. I will be helping a friend replace the tips with jammer 2-75hp tips tomorrow and I have read that they need to be pop tested.

Also is there a writeup on injector replacement and tip replacement somewhere, I have searched for the past hour with no luck, I have never done it on a 24valve and would like to read up a little on it first, TIA.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
1,419 Posts
i know you should have them pop tested, it is not epensive, but i have also heard of some people getting away with not doing it to. I wish i could help you out, but i have never done nozzles before.

· SNAFU
4,724 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i know you should have them pop tested, it is not epensive, but i have also heard of some people getting away with not doing it to. I wish i could help you out, but i have never done nozzles before.

Thats what I've heard but the truck is out in bfe, and it cant be down that long so I was wondering what I could get away with.

· Registered
336 Posts
i did my 03 w/dynomite d. stage 1 injecters w no pop test and increased fuel mileage and power so i think u should be good, i also put the injectors back in their same order its about a 3 hr job

· SNAFU
4,724 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
can you even pop test electronic injectors??

if you dont pop test your injectors you can get different opening pressures. witch will make the truck run like crap.

the injectors are in an '01 not the '03 in my sig, and can any cummins garage pop test them? There are several shops around me that work on big Cummins just wondering if they can do something like that.

· Mule Barn Proprietor
11,778 Posts
can you even pop test electronic injectors??