Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Where's my sparkplugs????
1,137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What kind of clutch would best suite me? I don't pull trailors too often, I work in the oilfield and put a lot of highway miles on my truck and would like something that can take me past level 1 on my programmer without slipping like it does. I have to pretty much act soon because I can't even drive my truck and get out of it without smelling my clutch due to this merciless Texas summer, programmer and all my driving. I'm hitting you guys up because I could call or contact any clutch company and obviously they're going to tell me that their clutches hung the moon. Any kind of suggestions biased or not would help me make my decision for I have the green flag from my wife to go through with this. :thumbsup

· Registered
1,062 Posts
I just ordered a Southbend DD 3250 clutch. It should be here in a couple days and I will try to put it in this weekend. If I can't get it in this weekend then I have to wait a month until I have access to a shop again since I am on the road with work.

I got talked into that one because while i do a lot of pulling trailers, I don't really drag race or sled pull and the guys told me that if I didn't need the billet flywheel then I shouldn't spend the extra money on it. That meant that when it is time to service the clutch that I can just have a local shop surface the flywheel rather than having to send everything back to the factory for refurbishing.

I do know that with the better south bend and valairs that you can send your clutch plates back and have the pads replaced after it is worn rather than buy new stuff every time. At least that is what I was told.

I have an 07 5.9 too with 25k on it and my clutch has been slipping for about 3 months so I am ready for the change.