Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
has anyone tryed a hydrogen generator. they are very simple and can really help fuel mileage. but how and where to introduce into diesel engines? everything i read about them is great but i would like to hear some comments from folks who have tryed it.

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
I have no practical experience with this, but have given serious consideration to it. I made my own propane enrichment system on an industrial engine (old bobcat), and was going to build one, but pulled the engine & replaced it with something I didn't want to break. If it leaks, it can break a crank. I had a couple SERIOUS knocks from leaving the key on before I wired it into the kill soleniod.

You can pretty easily build your own, and hydrogen is MUCH more volatile than nearly any other gas by a factor of at least 5 depending on how you approach the math. This means it makes a better catalyst. All you need is a container for distilled water, which you can mount an anode and cathode made of graphite. You need an acid to help the process along. Sulphuric will work, but a good choice is phoshporic as it is less volatile. You can also use citric. The best way I found to get the anode/cathode into the jug is by shrink tubing over a wire overlapping a drafting pencil lead. this assembly is waterproof and then can be passed through a port in your jug. That's about as far as I got building one. :( Needs to be held stationary as the graphite is rather fragile.

I gave up on the concept mostly after switching to biodiesel. The improved cetane rating makes almost all the fuel burn in the cylinder anyway, so using a gaseous catalyst is kind of a waste of time. Petrodiesel is filled with long chain hydrocarbons which without a catalyst, under load will not burn in the cylinder, and thus exit as smoke or burn ahead of the turbo helping increase boost and egt's.

·
Registered
60 Posts