Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new with diesel and i just bought a 2001 quab cab short bed and auto with 78000 miles and want to get the best mpg i could, i dont pull anything, the truck it's empty everytime, i already order a edge ez and the truck has a kn filter at the box none a cone, also want to get a 5" turbo back and some 315-75-16, what alse should help me to get the top mpg?

·
Registered
97 Posts
dont get the 315's, theyre gonna kill it. but, big tires are sweet so i dont expect you to do that. intake, chip, and exhaust all help you just gotta drive it like its your grandmas cadillac. but its a cummins so how can you do that?

·
Registered
107 Posts
maybe ditch the stock injectors for a better set.

·
Registered
235 Posts
Dont exceed 62 mpg. I have been nailing 20 mpg hwy in an 02 dually that is 100% stock minus a BHAF. Imagine a chip and exhaust on my truck, 24 mpg hwy maybe?

·
Registered
107 Posts
i agree keep the speed down above 62 kills the mileage

·
Registered
107 Posts
light foot on the throttle especially getting on the freeways

·
I DONT BELIEVE IT!
1,728 Posts
I have the same truck you do just it has the h.o. and a stick . If i baby it i can get 25 plus on the highway . and thats with everythign that my sig says

·
Registered
212 Posts
Chip, air filter sound good. Don't go 5" turbo back, the bigger pipe will hurt your power and mileage unless you are already making over 500hp. Other than that, keep your foot out of it, treat that pedal like it was covered with broken glass and you have a bare foot. Also, look ahead, as soon as you see a red light, or any other obstruction up ahead, lift off the throttle. Every time you use the brakes, you are shedding energy, which got there courtesy of the diesel you burnt when accelerating previously.

·
Registered
7,738 Posts