Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

how to control your EGT?

6195 Views 21 Replies 12 Participants Last post by  tryNto
I am new to the diesel world and I have to say I will never go gas again. I need to known how to controll my EGT's when towing. Do I keep my RPMS up when pulling up a big grade or let off and down shift. sorry for the simple questions. thanks

05 5.9 delete pipe, aem cold air and quad 65 hp tow module 6 sp :confused013:
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Premium Member
10,324 Posts
Your 05 will run quite a bit hotter than older diesels for emissions. 1450* is said to be the continuous duty rating.

I am not sure what the Quad does for it's power so I can't say how it will effect your EGT's... I know that nothing runs as cool as a Smarty Jr.

As far as rpms I find the best power:rpm:EGT is in the 2200-2500 range, above 2500 the EGT's can really rise on the HPCR, based on emissions. But if you can maintain speed at 1900-2200 rpms let it run there.

· Registered
47 Posts
I just bought an Armstrong header from someone on this forum (waiting for it to arrive). I am interested to know if it can help me with EGT reduction. I easily get into the 1200's and have seen 1400+. My local Diesel performance guy says that these stock turbos are good for 1200 degree EGT's under continuous load, but not higher. If this header doesn't work for me, i'll be looking at adding Snow (cheap option), but then we're heading for intercooler and turbo upgrades... $$$

· Premium Member
10,324 Posts
I just bought an Armstrong header from someone on this forum (waiting for it to arrive). I am interested to know if it can help me with EGT reduction. I easily get into the 1200's and have seen 1400+. My local Diesel performance guy says that these stock turbos are good for 1200 degree EGT's under continuous load, but not higher. If this header doesn't work for me, i'll be looking at adding Snow (cheap option), but then we're heading for intercooler and turbo upgrades... $$$