Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone can explain how my 05 front hubs work when I select 4x4? I have the manual shift on the floor. Lately when engaging 4x4 I will not get the light in the dash. Although it does seem to work. Are they electric? Do they disengage or is my front axle always supposed to spin? I am new to modern 4x4's only had fully manual systems before. Also does the rear axle have an electric lockup when in 4x4 or do you just depend on the "anti-spin" function?

THANKS!

·
Registered
2,376 Posts
your front axle will always spin, I think it just transfers power to the front drive shaft through the Transfer case

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
so as long as you are not spinning the wheels you should be able to shift into 4H from 2H at any "low" speed?

·
Registered
2,376 Posts
yes you can shift from 2h to 4h on the fly but you have to come to a complete stop to switch to 4L

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So really the front hubs are always locked up? Do you know of any kits that unlock them for fuel mileage or to reduce wear on front axle?

·
Registered
2,376 Posts
yes they sell manual lock-out hubs but they are pricey last set I priced was around 1800 to 2000 bucks:doh:

·
Premium Member
15,373 Posts
These trucks do no thave front hubs, always engaged.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Like said these trucks do not have front hubs. They have unit bearings that are directly attached to the axles via splines. There is a switch and vacuum module on the transfer case that maybe faulty. It will still engage the transfercase it just won't let you know with the light.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #10