Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Registered
1,171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to Cummins - just bought a 2018 RAM 3500 with the manual trans. I've had four Ford Powerstroke 6.7L Super Duty trucks which I loved. Just wanted to try the manual trans before it is gone.

Question is, how do I know when a DPF regen is occurring? On the Ford, you could activate a screen in the dash display showing how full the exhaust filter was, and you would see the %Full dropping as the truck regenerated. Can you see this on the RAM in any way? Is there a message or warning light that comes on?

If not, there were other signs on the Powerstroke...the turbo boost gauge would show boost added much more quickly during a regen. The engine would have a slightly different tone. And finally, there would be the hot smell. Of course, fuel economy would drop as well. On the Powerstroke, a regen was forced automatically every 500 miles even if the filter wasn't full. These were brief regens. Otherwise, a full 20-minute regen would occur. The Ford regen would stop if the truck was put into Park. (What happens with a standard?).

· Registered
1,653 Posts
Drive it and don’t worry about it. If it is interrupted it will finish next time.

Otherwise I can see it with my CTS2 monitor. I know most monitors will show regen status.
Sometimes you can smell a hot smell but not always. You might see a slight fuel economy decrease.

Best advice though is dont worry about it. It will take care of itself.

· Registered
31 Posts
Drive it and don’t worry about it. If it is interrupted it will finish next time.

Otherwise I can see it with my CTS2 monitor. I know most monitors will show regen status.
Sometimes you can smell a hot smell but not always. You might see a slight fuel economy decrease.

Best advice though is dont worry about it. It will take care of itself.
You can actually hear it
Tic tic tic tic tic