Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
1 - 20 of 144 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm a newb here on this forum. I am about to jump both feet into Hot shotting. I have been driving since '94, so I know how things work on the road. I have always wanted to do hot shot work, infact, I work for a hotshot outfit. BUT I seem to be getting back in Big trucks.

ANYHOW,
I have been skimming through all the threads about hot shot starting up and all. And I have a few questions I haven't found answers to.

What is the ideal trailer configuration? (disc/drum brakes, electric/hydro over electric, spread tandems/ close tandems, ect...

What brake controller are you all running? Why?

What about these back seat conversions that are supposed to be sleeper legal?

I have a 2003 3500, quad, 4x4, man tranny, with 95,+++ miles, paid for.
I'm looking at a 40ft gooseneck with disk brakes and a spread to be built for me. Yea, I know about the draw back of the spread, been pulling one for a long time and I feel its worth it. (in the big truck world anyhow) I was thinking of running this truck for 6 months or so then build my other truck (more on that later) to pull a roustabout float.(which I cant find who makes them)
I have been talking a bit to the folks at ACME, they seem to have the best set up for hotshots. And I have been around them for quite some years now.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
480 Posts
Find a trailer you like to pull. ACME is pretty deep into the hotshot game and should be a good starting off point for you. Your truck DRW?

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yes sir DRW.

I've driven for O/O's for years, so that doesn't bother me any. I feel it'll be a learning curve, just not sure how big of a curve...