Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

HELP 50hp nozzle install = lost power??

2606 Views 12 Replies 4 Participants Last post by  Ram'n It
Hey guys, Im kind of new to the diesel world and i need a little help. I've done all the searching I could and I cant find what i'm looking for.... So any info would be awesome!!

I bought a used 2004 (305hp) 2500 cummins. It was all stock when I got it. It has 196000 miles on it. Don't know a hole lot about the service records. I do know it was a work truck with a service contract.. (I called the shop that did all the work and the a$$ [email protected] told me he cant give that info out, he said "its like medical info I cant give out")!!!!!

Anyways I put 4in diamond eye turbo back exhaust on it, installed the home made big honkin air filter kit (the big cat dozer filter) and took out all the silencers and installed a EZ Edge programmer.

The truck ran and pulled my car trailer awesome!!! It was very fast for only having a few things done to it.

I now ended up getting a set of DDP 50 hp nozzles for it. I did buy them used, but the guy I got them from seemed very respectful and honest. He was even going to help me put them in. I didn't take him up on the help thinking I could handle it no problems... (i own a performance shop mainly gas engines, so i am mechanically inclined). I did get the ddp directions off line and i also got a dodge service manual from the local dodge dealer..

The first problem i noticed is when I took out the supply tubes. On the back 3 tube's nuts holding them in the head where kind of damp looking and more rusty than the front 3... When I pulled the front 3 tubes out of the head a very small amount of fuel drained out of the head (i would say it was what was left in the injector or the tube when i pulled the tub off the injector). the back 3 tubes had at least twice as much if not 3 times the amount of the front 3... I don't think it was supposed to be like that???