Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

hair pulling

760 Views 10 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  Blue2003
my truck surges/misses at idle after warm up.....i have done EVERYTHING to try and find it....whatever it is, is making the amp guage fluctuate slightly and then it kicks the voltage regulator in, causing the governor to try and keep up.....had a bad battery, replaced it, cleaned all terminals, alternator checks good, charging 14.1 when running, batts say 12.6 when not running....acts like grid heater kicks on kinda, what determines when it reaches 66 degrees to shut grid heater off?
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Horse Power JUNKIE
1,656 Posts
Have you tried pulling the grid heater relay?

· Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i looked all over for a grid heater relay......is it called something else? keep in mind im new to diesels all together, sorry if i sound stupid.....i am. i do know if i unhook the alternator, it runs perfect...so i know its somethin pullin on the charging system...

· Registered
2,385 Posts
Since your truck is an 02 do the key trick. On off on off then leave it on. If you have any codes they will read in your odometer. If you have any post them back up here. This may help us figure out what your problem is.:thumbsup:

· Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
no codes...i do that every morning, hoping something will show up....i made one trip on purpose last nite to see if the coolant sensor by the thermostat was working, and to make sure a code would show up.....it did....cleared it with my scanner, and no codes now.

· Horse Power JUNKIE
1,656 Posts
So you unhooked the coolant sensor to get the code? The heater relay should be in a good size fuse panel that under a plastic cover. Its located inbetween the batt and mastercylinder right next to the fender.

· Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·