Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner

Got me a RARE toy 98 Quad Cab Dually 12 VALVE, Have QUESTIONS?

7850 Views 44 Replies 15 Participants Last post by  flubyux2
I just bought a 1998 Dodge Ram 3500 quad cab dually with the 12 VALVE Cummins engine and 5 speed tanny, 250-k miles. Has 02 model tow mirrors, simulator and everything is color matched. (white, looks sharp)

I am new to the 2nd gen 12V's and have a couple of questions.
1) Truck seems to run good, but did notice going into 3rd gear I can get it to blow out smoke sometimes (black or dark gray) really does not do it in any other gear. Will black smoke setting and stepping on the go pedal. How can I find out if the previous owners adjusted anyting or did the fuel plate?

2) I get a scratch or grind in the transmission going into 3rd gear, unless I stay in a LOW rpm range. Is there any easy fix or patch job that I can do until I get funds for a rebuild or upgrade?

I bought this from a local bank and know nothing about it other than what I am finding.
Is there anything I need to check for or check out other than the KDP?
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

· Registered
9,910 Posts
you will know if the pump has been tampered with if the tamper proof screw on the AFC is beat up or remove/replaced/broke.

As for the 3rd gear grind, sounds like ther syncro is goin out. only 'patch' is to learn to drive it 'right' (matching rpms, where the syncro doesnt do anything) and double clutching. my truck has nearly 500k on it now and the 2/3 syncros are starting to get finiky, especially when its cold. floating or double clutching and it will drop right into any gear no problem.

i will advise against floating it untill you get alot of hours behind it and can actually float it properly or you WILL tear out whats left of the syncros very fast

· Premium Member
1,170 Posts
Not to sound liek a smart A$$, but what is rare about this truck? I had the exact truck and I know of atleast 4 more in my imediate area...What am I missing?

· Registered