Dodge Cummins Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your truck HERE to be a part of December's Cummins of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to the 12 valve Cummins, but not to the family. I have worked on two 6.7 before they were my fathers, and now finally bought a 5.9 12 valve. I have ran into the same problem, when I was driving the truck out to North Dakota, where I go to college. Running through Pennsylvania the truck started to lose power at 2,000 Rpm doing about 70. So I back down a bit and ran it at 60 or 1,800 Rpm, it still continued to lose power. So I decided to pull off the turn pike and get to a Napa for some injector cleaner. I had the same thing happen to our Mercedes E300 Turbo diesel, with the same symptoms, but as I down shifted to 3rd, double clutching, she died when she went into neutral. The pickup's a little hard to steer, and stop with no power. :shock:

I then limped to the Napa got some injector cleaner, filled it with clean diesel No 1. then let it idle for a bit. The problem ceased, and the truck made it to North Dakota with no other issues that. Now today she start doing the same thing, but this time She could not even limp to the Cummins dealer in town, I had to get a tow.

I thought that this issue was a fuel filter issue, and decided to bite the bullet and have it replaced at a shop because I really don't feel like messing with this at -18 degrees.

Am I correct with thinking this will be just a fuel filter issue?

Thanks,
-Paul

·
Registered
584 Posts
Probably?:confused013:

It could also be substandard #1 fuel gelling up and waxing in the filter. In which case the new filter will do the same thing. I'm sure some northern folks will chime in here with ideas for the best fuel additives for really cold weather.

·
Premium Member
638 Posts
The fuel filter could cause this but so could a failing lift pump, failing pressure regulator, or a pinched fuel line.